I am a writer. I tell everyone that. As a reader of my blog, it is also important for you to know. I am a writer. The kind of writer who watches music videos, broods about life and procrastinates on actual writing.

But lately, I have been seeing a quote everywhere and it provoked my thoughts.

“If you wish to be a writer, write.” By Epictetus.

It forced me to reflect on my status as a writer. On whether I want to be one. On what I should do to be one. On what kind of writer I want to be.

In school, a teacher asked if we had something we were all extremely good at or know a lot about. It was in that moment of silence that I realised I did not have something like that. I was not passionate about anything in particular except maybe the Bible. I was not curious enough to research on topics that interested me. I just took in facts like one looks at scenery from a train. Fleeting. Just enough to know, not enough to understand.

It was a pity.

Just the other day, I was sharing my plans to write a detective short story as a school assignment and suddenly everyone had high expectations of my writing. But a cold fear gripped me. I could not write that well, because I had not been writing consistently. I told myself I would get around to writing the story and it would be alright.

With my laptop on to Microsoft Word, I placed my hands on the keyboard and realised I forgot my voice. How should I write this story? I could not remember, because I have not been writing. Not enough practice.

So now I need to catch up with the hours of writing I should have done in the past but never did. I do want to meet the expectations of my friends and deliver a spectacular detective story. I do not want to do a bad job and write a better story ‘next time’. I will regret it. I know I will. So I am going to write for hours now like I should have done before.

A writer writes. There is a reason why. Never tell a slipshod story, even if you have been procrastinating for days. Even if you have writer’s block. Excuses are for excusers. Writers, let’s stick to writing. Write through everything so that you can tell a good story. Don’t shortchange your readers because of a mistake you made. It is not their fault for expecting a good story. It is my fault for not being serious about it.

So this blog is going to be about my journey through this business of writing. The appeal of procrastination, the blood, sweat and tears of writing and the different worlds that come out because of it. A writer writes. This is what my blog is all about.

6 thoughts on “Being A Writer

  1. A writer writes, that is one fact you can’t get away from. You shouldn’t have any trouble finding your voice again, from what I can see you write very well and your grammar is excellent.

    Write often, I’ll be happy to read any blogs you publish.

    Like

  2. This blog really hit close to home for me, you are so right! Thank you for reminding me that if I want to be a writer – I better get on with it and write!

    Like

Comments are now closed.